Logo Icon only.png

About Awa Books

Children's books for more diversity

Awa Books is a young publisher from Zurich, which was established in 2021. With lovely illustrated stories, children should be taught the enjoyment of reading (out loud) and reading together. The primary focus is on teaching Tibetan culture, open-mindedness, and acceptance of diversity.

 

About the Book Product Line

Awa Books' publisher range offers bilingual fables and narratives told across generations to deliver important lessons of life, love, friendship and kindness. It also offers children's books about Tibetan customs, traditions and ceremonies, as well as simple every day life related situations.

 

The development

Awa Books was created out of the idea to increase the amount of children's books with protagonists of Tibetan ethnicity and thus contribute to more diversity in the world of children's books. As a result, Awa Books was launched in February 2021 in Zurich.

"Awa" in Tibetan means "child/children" (ཨ་ཝ།; a'wa) and it is exactly these two components that Awa Books focuses on - Tibetan culture for children.

 

Why Awa Books exists

For parents in the diaspora it’s a challenge to teach their children their own culture. But not only for the parents, but also for the children it isn't easy to find and form their own cultural identity in exile and in the diaspora between two worlds.

Children's books are essential, not only for language development, but also for overall development. The language development supported by reading helps the children to better understand themselves and their environment, to express feelings and needs and to strengthen social behaviour. Furthermore, it also enhances the parent-child relationship when reading out loud and together. Therefore, children's books are an ideal chance to teach children certain values from their earliest days and to give them an introduction to Tibetan culture. This is what Awa Books aspires.

Logo Icon only.png

About Awa Books

Kinderbücher für mehr Diversität

Awa Books ist ein junger Verlag aus Zürich, der 2021 entstanden ist. Mit schön illustrierten Geschichten soll Kindern die Freude am (Vor-)Lesen und gemeinsamen Lesen vermittelt werden. Dabei steht die Vermittlung der tibetischen Kultur, Offenheit sowie Toleranz bezüglich Diversität im Vordergrund. 

Zum Buchprogramm

Das Verlagsprogramm von Awa Books bietet bilinguale Fabeln und Erzählungen, die über Generationen hinweg erzählt werden und wichtige Lektionen des Lebens, der Liebe, der Freundschaft und der Freundlichkeit liefern. Weiter bietet es Kinderbücher über die tibetischen Bräuche, Traditionen und Feste sowie ganz einfach über das alltägliche Leben. 

 

Die Entstehung

Awa Books entstand aus der Idee heraus mehr Kinderbücher mit Protagonist*innen tibetischer Ethnie zu schaffen und so einen Beitrag zu mehr Diversität in der Kinderbücherwelt zu leisten. Daraufhin wurde Awa Books im Februar 2021 in Zürich ins Leben gerufen. 

 

„Awa“ bedeutet auf Tibetisch „Kind/Kinder“ (ཨ་ཝ།; a'wa) und genau diese beiden Komponenten stehen bei Awa Books im Zentrum – die Tibetische Kultur für Kinder.

 

Darum gibt es Awa Books

Für Eltern in der Diaspora ist es eine grosse Herausforderung ihren Kindern die eigene Kultur zu vermitteln. Aber nicht nur für die Eltern, sondern auch für die Kinder ist es nicht leicht im Exil und in der Diaspora zwischen zwei Welten die eigene kulturelle Identität zu finden und formen. 

Kinderbücher sind enorm wichtig, nicht nur für die Sprachförderung, sondern auch für die ganzheitliche Entwicklung. Die durch Lesen geförderte Sprachentwicklung hilft dem Kind sich und seine Umwelt besser zu verstehen, Gefühle und Bedürfnisse auszudrücken und das soziale Verhalten zu stärken. Weiter stärkt es auch die Eltern-Kind-Beziehung beim Vorlesen und dem gemeinsamen Lesen. Daher sind Kinderbücher eine ideale Gelegenheit den Kindern von klein auf gewisse Werte zu vermitteln und eine Einführung in die Tibetische Kultur zu geben. Dabei will Awa Books helfen.